I like fried things and I cannot lie

I blame my mother. I call her the Deep-Fry Queen because that woman can fry ANYTHING. I think this is why some of my favorite foods are made with batter and thrown into hot oil. It also doesn’t help that I live in the state with the largest state fair where deep fried food is an annual novelty experience. By the way, do you think it’s possible to deep fry ducks? Since you can deep fry a chicken. Why hasn’t anyone thought of this?

I digress.

Two weeks ago Dan and I discovered how to make deep fried pickles. Sweet Jesus they were easier than I imagined. You slice up some dill pickles like thick chips, pat them with a paper towel and then coat them in flour and throw them in the bubbly oil. I served these with a creamy sour cream dip. Dan man approved. I have to say, damn that was good!

Gluten-free Fried Pickles

Gluten-free Fried Pickles

Recipe yields 2 servings

  • 2 large dill pickles cut into 1/4 inch slices
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose gluten-free flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon Slap-Yo-Mama seasoning (or any Cajun seasoning)
  • 1 1/2 cup of peanut/canola/or vegetable oil
  • non-stick pan

Dipping sauce

  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoonΒ Slap-Yo-Mama seasoning (or any Cajun seasoning)
  1. Pat the pickles dry with a paper towel.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour with Cajun seasoning and coat pickle slices.
  3. Heat oil in the pan until 350 degrees F.
  4. Add in pickles using tongs. Once they brown at the bottom, flip and cook until golden brown.
  5. Move to a plate lined with paper towel.
  6. For the sauce, mix all ingredients in a small bowl. Serve with fried pickles and enjoy while hot!
One thought on “I like fried things and I cannot lie

Leave a Reply

