Carnitas Tacos

I was told by one of my foodie friends that I could make carnitas using pork loin. I took this idea to work and had a pulled pork debate with a technical writer and a programmer who informed me that I should use pork shoulder or pork butt instead. Well I already got all the ingredients I needed prior to this conversation so I made it using the pork loin I already bought.

So, 2 pounds of pork loin slow cooked on the stove for 4 hours later, I had amazing carnitas.

It’s pork. I pulled it. It’s legit.

DSCN0899

Recipe makes 4 servings

  • 2 pounds of pork loin roast
  • 1 teaspoons oregano
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 12 corn tortillas
  1. In a medium pot bring all ingredients to a boil. Cover the pot and reduce to a low heat for 4 hours.
  2. Discard liquid and use two forks and pull the pork apart. Serve with warm tortillas, guac, and salsa.
Leave a Reply

