Spicy eggplant & potato

Most people I know have a love or hate relationship with eggplant, my favorite vegetable! Any time someone gets excited about eggplant, I get excited too. I can think of so many ways to prepare this meaty vegetable. It’s so satisfying because of it’s texture. The eggplant is super absorbent when cooked and it’s texture is slightly chewy; they’re like mushrooms because they’re meaty. I love Japanese eggplant grilled and served on a sandwich bun with spicy garlic aioli. I also love them in soups. Lately, I’ve been using them a lot in stir fries. A few nights this week, I prepared them with garlic, onion, a little mirin, dried Thai chilies, and sweet soy bean sauce. Depending on what I’m in the mood for, I add chopped basil or cilantro.

Serves 2:

  • 2 long Japanese eggplants chopped 1/2 inch chunks
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon mirin
  • 1 teaspoon sweet soy bean sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried chili flakes
  • 1 medium potato peeled and diced 1/2 inch chunks
  1. In a large nonstick pan, heat oil at medium high heat. Fry onions until translucent. Add eggplant, garlic, salt, chili flakes, and potatoes. Cook until vegetables are browned.
  2. Add mirin and soy bean sauce. Toss vegetables to coat evenly.
  3. Garnish with chopped basil or mint if desired. Serve with white rice.
Leave a Reply

