Durian Pillows

After a month of studying durian, working with durian, thinking of new ways to play with durian, and then finally finding blogs of people who love durian as much as I do, I found a recipe that intrigued me. Rosytea read my blog about durian cake and shared a blog post from Hungerhunger; a recipe about Malaysian durian pillows. It’s a smooth crepe filled with whipped cream and mashed durian. Pure heaven (I speak for us durian lovers)!

Thank you Rosytea, I never would’ve made this if you hadn’t mentioned it to me.

I’m adapting this recipe from Terri’s Hungerhunger blog but I converted her recipe measurements from grams to cups to make it more convenient for the rest of us. :]

  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled + 2 Tbsp for greasing pan
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs + 1 egg yolk

1. Mix all ingredients together (except 2 Tbsp of butter). Pour batter over a sieve into a bowl to get a fine and smooth batter.

2. On medium high heat, lightly grease a non-stick frying pan with some melted butter and pour 1 ladle full of batter into the pan. Swirl the batter around to get a very thin pancake. Lower the heat and cook until the pancake is done. It takes less than 30 seconds. The batter is cooked when it looks completely dry on top. Do not flip over.

3. Using the edge of your spatula, gently lift one of the edges of the crepe to loosen from the pan and then, invert to a plate to cool. Repeat until all the batter is done. You can stack the crepe on top of each other since they cool very fast.

Filling:
1 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream
1 tbsp caster sugar
2 cups durian flesh (if frozen allow to defrost completely before using)

1. Whip the cream with the sugar until stiff. Chill
2. You can blend the durian flesh or mash it with a fork. I think I prefer to mash with a fork because the blended durian was too mushy and the fibers were all cut up.
3. You can mix the cream with the durian or leave separate.

To assemble: Put a heaped tablespoon of whipped cream onto the center of the pancake. top with a level half tablespoon of durian flesh, and fold into a small, puffed rectangular pillow. If you have mixed the cream and durian, just plop a large tablespoon onto the middle of the pancake and fold. Chill very well before serving.

6 thoughts on “Durian Pillows

  1. oh my goodness! I’m so happy you tried it and they look delightful! One day when I feel gutsy, I’ll try making them as well (I’m not much of a cook ๐Ÿ˜› )

    • Hey girl! It wasn’t as hard as I thought. The key to getting smooth pancakes is to cook it on medium high heat in the beginning and lower the heat so it doesn’t brown the pancakes (original recipe doesn’t tell us this). Thanks so much for sharing this idea with me. Let me know when you decide to make it and post pics. After making these durian pillows, I wondered if I can make a pandan version of the pillows. It could be interesting! :))

      • I sure will! Probably won’t be trying this anytime soon but I’ll def post & share ๐Ÿ™‚ Gosh! I rarely hear people talk of durian or pandan in my neck of the woods. Makes me feel like I’m back in Asia

      • What part of the states do you live in? I’m down here in Texas where there’s a fair amount of southeast Asians. I’d say in Dallas we have mostly Koreans, Vietnamese, Filipinos, and Thai and Laos. Every once in a while I meet someone were Burma and that’s exciting

Leave a Reply

