Eggplant Red Curry

Eggplant is my favorite vegetable. It’s creamy when roasted, and meaty when sauteed. It tastes so good in eggplant parmigiana, baingan bartha (indian stir fry with spices), or roasted with olive oil then served on a pressed mozzerella sandwich. One evening I had a bunch of Japanese eggplants leftover so I decided to make an eggplant red curry. If you like eggplant and red curry, you’ll love this. This meat-free vegan curry is for all my vegan friends out there.

Recipe yields 2 servings

  • 2 long Japanese eggplants, cut into 1×2 inch chunks
  • 1 red Thai chili pepper, smashed (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon of vegetarian “fish sauce” (can be found in local Asian market)
  • 2 teaspoons of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup of coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons Thai garlic chili paste
  • 1 14 oz. can of vegetable stock
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 stalk of lemongrass, smashed roughly with a knife and left whole
  • chopped cilantro and Thai basil for garnish
  1. In a medium soup pot, heat oil on medium high heat. Fry garlic chili paste in oil for a minute. Add smashed lemongrass pieces, garlic, and eggplant. Stir frequently.
  2. Add vegetable stock, coconut milk, chili pepper, fish sauce, salt, sugar, and bring to a medium boil. Simmer for 10 minutes until eggplant is cooked through. Pick out the long lemongrass stalks and toss away. Taste before serving.
  3. Serve with steamed white rice or rice noodles.
4 thoughts on “Eggplant Red Curry

  1. Thanks for sharing! I definitely want to try this recipe out. I like eggplant but sometimes stumped on how to prepare them. After tasting your red curry coconut sauce, I know this will be a hit! Thanks Sugar Mama!

    • Mmm red curry. My absolute favorite! I always keep a big tub of curry paste in my fridge cause I use it often. I think it’s like 2.50 for a large tub of it. It lasts forever. Love you Mai.

Leave a Reply

