Stabilized Whipped Cream

One of the questions I get asked the most as a baker is, “Stef, how do you make whipped cream from scratch?” or, “Why does my whipped cream fall flat after a couple of hours?”

Before I can answer any of these questions, I have to recall a memory of me holding a bottle of Reddi-whip, hovering over a beautiful cake I just baked and there I was, shaking the cold bottle and vigilantly holding town the white plastic nozzle to spray with all the confidence I was born with only to find that the foamy cream was melting in the cake right before my eyes. What a nightmare.

I feel like it’s my duty to share with other fellow bakers on how to divert from this situation. It’s a noble task what I do, helping fellow bakers one icing batch at a time.

The secret to a beautiful whipped cream icing for cakes is:

  • very cold whipping cream
  • very cold mixing bowl and beaters
  • 1 teaspoon of unflavored gelatin per cup of cream used

The recipe

  • 1 teaspoon unflavored gelatin
  • 1 Tablespoon cold water
  • 1 cup cold heavy or whipping cream
  • 3 Tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Instructions

  1. In a small bowl, dissolve the gelatin with the cold water. Stir well and microwave for 30 seconds. Stir well so that the gelatin is completely dissolved into the water and should be clear without lumps.
  2. In your cold mixing bowl, beat the cream until it gets thick and starts to form peaks. Slowly increase the speed so that it doesn’t splatter on you.
  3. Gradually add in powdered sugar.
  4. Now add the gelatin mixture and vanilla. You could also add in lemon extract, cocoa, or whatever flavoring of your choice.
Leave a Reply

