Chicken curry fried rice with mixed vegetables + cranberries

I’d like to start today’s post by saying (if I haven’t already), how much I LOVE CURRY! I’ve decided that if I wasn’t a Vietnamese in my past life, I’m pretty sure I was Indian or Thai. Once, I tried to go a week without eating curry and I got depressed. Life wasn’t the same because it was missing bold, intense flavors or rich sauces infused with coconut milk or cumin. I was indecisive about what to eat at work today but I had some mixed vegetables that I wanted to use. I ended up roasting eggplant with a little olive oil and salt and adding that to my chicken fried rice with yellow curry powder and broccoli, carrots, and for a little bit of sweetness, cranberries. WHHAAAT! Yeah, it was actually really tasty. I’m telling you, curry tastes good with almost everything.

Recipe yields 4-5 main course servings

Equipment: a wok or large non stick pan

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups cooked jasmine rice
  • vegetable oil
  • olive oil
  • 1/3 cup of chopped onions
  • 1 small carrot, grated
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 medium chicken breasts, sliced 1/4 inch thick into bite size pieces
  • 3 tablespoons yellow curry powder
  • salt to taste
  • 1 cup of broccoli florets
  • 1 cup of diced eggplant cut into 1/2 inch squares
  • 1/3 cup dried and sweetened cranberries
  • 1 tablespoon Sriracha rooster sauce
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line eggplant on a baking sheet and sprinkle salt and olive oil on top. Bake for 10 minutes and set aside.
  2. In a wok or nonstick pan, heat vegetable oil to coat pan and add eggs then onions, stirring frequently. Stir in chicken and curry, then the rest of the vegetables, salt, and cranberries. Stir evenly until chicken is no longer pink. Finally, stir in Sriracha rooster sauce.

Leave a Reply

