Toasty Quinoa + Cashews

Man! I am loving quinoa more and more. It’s just too easy to cook with and acts as a blank canvas for big bold flavors. Lately I find myself using it as a pasta or rice substitute. I’ve decided to reenforce my good eating habits by eliminating animal products in my diet 4 days a week. I’m hoping that the clean eating habits are going to make me realize some other unhealthy things I put into my body. Luckily for me, I am a big fan of vegetables and enjoy doing different things with them. Today I toasted quinoa on a nonstick skillet to toast them to give it a nutty flavor. I added aromatics like garlic and shallots and cooked for 15 minutes. In a separate pan I caramelized 3 shallots and tossed them in the quinoa and garnished with fresh basil and toasted cashews. Totally a great savory side dish. MM-MMM!!

Feeds 2

  • 4 shallots, roughly chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup of quinoa, rinsed thoroughly and drained
  • 1 cup of water
  • chopped basil
  • 1/4 cup of toasted cashews
  • salt
  • vegetable oil
  1. With a non stick pan on medium high heat, add the quinoa and toast, stirring frequently for a few minutes. Remove from heat.
  2. In a small sauce pan. Add one 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil and add 1/4 of the chopped shallots then the garlic. Add the quinoa and water. Stir until combined then bring the pot to a boil. Cover the lid, turn heat down on low and cook for 15 minutes without peeking.
  3. In a non stick pan, add one tablespoon of vegetable oil on medium high heat and fry the shallots until golden brown. Add a pinch of salt.
  4. When quinoa is cooked, allow to cool completely. Then add the cashews, caramelized shallots, and basil.
2 thoughts on “Toasty Quinoa + Cashews

Leave a Reply

