Strawberry Scones

I have a terrible scone story to tell you. This morning I went to a new coffee shop and didn’t realize it when I ordered, but it turned out to be a large coffee and frozen yogurt chain based from Nebraska. Well, you know how I’m all about supporting the locals and unbeknownst to me, I ordered a regular soy latte and a white chocolate raspberry scone. I asked the barista if it was fresh and she goes, “Yes, fresh from Nebraska.” But I caved in because white chocolate and raspberry sounded so amazing. How was it? AWFUL! It was hard and crumbly, and I could barely taste the white chocolate or raspberry. It was iced with a hard sugar icing that was probably made with just water and powdered sugar. YUCK! I’ll never eat a scone that took more than 24 hours to be delivered again! So…. I realize I’m being a little melodramatic but in my defense, you’ll never know how to appreciate a good scone until you’ve had a bad one.

Back to the point of this post, the other night I bought a large pint of strawberries because they’re so sweet and cheap right now and I almost forgot about them. Since strawberries have a quick expiration date (they go bad usually in a day or two) I needed to make something yummy with them quick.  I was either going to make a pie or scones and since scones are easier and faster, I opted for the latter.  So these scones are not terribly sweet and they’re fluffy. Again, nothing like eating a hot scone fresh from the oven.

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 1/2  cup fresh strawberries, cut into little pieces
  • 1 cup chilled buttermilk

 

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. Sift flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda into large bowl.
  2. Add butter and rub in with fingertips until mixture resembles coarse meal.  Gradually add buttermilk, tossing with fork until moist clumps form.
  3. Add strawberries and mix into dough. Turn dough out onto lightly floured work surface. Knead briefly to bind dough, about 4 turns.
  4. Divide dough in half. Form each half into 1-inch-thick disks. Cut each disk into 8 wedges. Transfer wedges to prepared baking sheet, spacing 2 inches apart. Bake until tops of scones are golden brown, about 25 minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

