Red Curry & Shrimp Vermicelli Soup

It’s been a wedding eventful year. I just got home from helping my friend Huong put together her centerpieces for her July wedding and it was so much fun. In 2 weeks I’ve got another cupcake wedding event to go to and that is going to be exciting as well. I know it’s summer and all and typically I have more time to cook but this year has been crazy and I’ve been lazy. :o)ย  I’m trying to get back into cooking real food more but my baking career has been taking off. Let’s talk curry.

Out of all the Thai curries, my favorite is red curry. It’s the combination of intense lemon grass, galangal, and chilies that make it so good with coconut milk. I’ve been on a coconut milk streak as of late. I’m not kidding. I’ve been craving for pina colada and red coconut curry almost every day. I need to check myself into a coconut milk rehabilitation support group. I figured if I write out my food crazes on my blog, the obsession will dissipate on it’s own. Isn’t that how it’s suppose to work? You write something out and it makes you realize your problems are REAL. Well, red curry is a lot of fun to make especially if you’re not a picky eater. I always make the curry soup the same but change up the vegetables or protein. Today, since I was able to find really good jumbo shrimp for really cheap, I decided to make red curry with shrimp, acorn squash, yellow squash, baby corn, sugar snap peas, and pineapple. I know, I really love my vegetables so I went all out.

Recipe yields 2 servings. Cooking time, 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons red curry paste
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 4 tablespoons of fish sauce
  • 1 pound of jumbo shrimp with head and skin on
  • 1 can of baby corn, drained
  • 1 cup of sugar snap peas
  • 1 can of pineapple chunks, drained
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 cup of either acorn squash or butternut squash, skin peeled and chopped
  • 1 yellow squash, sliced into 1/4 inch slices
  • cilantro and scallions for garnish
  • 1 packet of rice vermicelli noodles (cook as instructed on packet)
  1. In a medium boiling pot, fill with 6 cups of water and bring to a boil. Detach the shrimp heads and skin and add to the hot boiling water to create broth. Set the peeled shrimp aside.ย  Cook for 15 minutes to render the flavor of shrimp. Using a ladle with holes, remove the shrimp head and skin from the pot. Add butternut or acorn squash and cook on medium high heat for another 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a medium sauce pan, add oil on medium high heat and add red curry paste and stir until fragrant. Add chopped onions, then garlic. Add the can of coconut milk and mix well with the paste. Pour the coconut milk mixture into the pot of shrimp broth.
  3. Add fish sauce, sugar, baby corn, pineapple, sugar snap peas, and raw shrimp. Bring to a boil for 3 minutes and turn off heat.
  4. To serve, add one cup of cooked rice vermicelli inย  large soup bowls, divide soup evenly, and garnish with chopped scallions and chopped cilantro. Enjoy!
One thought on “Red Curry & Shrimp Vermicelli Soup

Leave a Reply

