Stenciled Babycakes for Sweetheart

Martha Stewart has come out with a line of very fun stencils for cupcake decorating and I thought in the spirit of this very commercialized holiday, I’d give them a try. There are 2 things to note. First, if you’re decorating on plain icing like I was, the stencils may stick to the icing a little. Make sure you wipe off excess frosting with a damp towel before putting stencil on the next cupcake. Second, the flatter the surface of your cake, the nicer the designs came out. Today, I simply dusted powdered sugar on top of the stencils and they came out fine but I may consider doing a white fondant topping next time and dust colored glitter on top instead. Still, the cupcakes today came out nice and they were delicious. I used the recipe for my classic yellow cake and just iced with regular cream cheese butter frosting. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

