Iced Vanilla Chai tea

When I attempted to lay off coffee for awhile (oh coffee how hard it is to quit you!), I sought desperately to find an alternative that was just as delicious and still kept me alert between school and work. I looked towards chai tea since it’s made of black tea which, has half the caffeine of coffee and has antioxidants which protect from free radicals. After having iced chai throughout the summer, I noticed it didn’t give me the jitters that coffee did and it somehow kept me just as awake. Plus, it’s delicious with milk and honey and you might not think of coffee for a while. So here’s what ya do:

  1. Boil one cup of water and pour over 2 bags of your favorite chai tea brand. I’m partial towards Good Earth’s Vanilla Chai because they use real vanilla extract and the tea has a perfect balance between herbs and spices which I find not overwhelming as other brands. Steep for 5 minutes.
  2. After the 5 minutes are over, add 1 tablespoon of honey and stir.
  3. Transfer the tea to a large glass or mason jar, add one cup of milk of your choice (I prefer Silk’s unsweetened organic soymilk). Stir well and add ice. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

