Banana Blueberry Pancakes

Hello All! It’s been awhile since my last post. I’m right in the middle of summer vacation and I’m still taking a class to get some of those college hours in. This doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy cooking, even though typically by this time in the summer I would’ve had almost completed my list of “new things i want to learn how to cook.” Last summer’s theme was probably cookies and pies. I don’t know what the culinary theme for this summer will be. It seems to be a mixture of got to eat healthy-very little carbs allowed-and OH, did I tell you? I quit coffee. Well, it’s been 3 weeks and I’m still going strong. I figured my 2 lattes a day to  make it to the end of the day, wasn’t working out. I felt tired after the high wore off and when I didn’t get my morning coffee, I was a very grumpy person. Not only was my burnt bean addiction bad for my body, it was bad for people who were around me at work and school. To substitute, I’ve been making iced Jasmine green tea with lemon, or iced chai. It’s just as tasty!

This morning when I got up, having missed my work out routine, I had an hour to prepare breakfast and decided to make banana-blueberry pancakes with oats. They were so so good! It takes some effort to making breakfast, but I figure if it gives me an energy boost, I’m all up on it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3/4 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1/4 cup of oats
  1. In a large bowl, mix together milk, egg, butter, and bananas.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, oats, blueberries, and salt.
  3. Add to the banana mixture and stir until combined, batter will be slightly lumpy.
  4. Heat a lightly greased pan over medium heat and pour batter into the griddle, using 1/4 cup for each pancake. When the air bubbles are popped, flip the cakes over to cook the other side until golden brown.
  5. ENJOY!
One thought on “Banana Blueberry Pancakes

  1. Always looking for new pancake recipes. Though I don’t use cow’s milk or eggs in my cooking, I think this can be adapted with almond milk and flax meal (a great egg substitute).

Leave a Reply

