Bittersweet Chocolate Chip Cookies

When I think about specific cooking ingredients, a friend or family member is associated with that item. Bittersweet chocolate reminds me of my friend Bryan. Mozzarella cheese and ginger ale reminds me of Tran. Coffee and creamy things remind me of Michiko. A good lookin’ croissant and plain ol’Β  butter reminds me of Mai but ironically, extremely healthy foods remind me of her too (she lives on the edge of both worlds.) Teresa, well her name is written all over whipped cream. Rene, guava.Β  Pho and tamales, Mat.

Thick and rich buttercream, Ross. Seaweed, my mother. Catfish, my brother Thomas. Slow cooked beef shank, my dad. The list goes on and on and on.

The following recipe is dedicated to my friends Bryan and Hector, bittersweet chocolate connoisseurs.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plus 6 tablespoons unbleached flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 2-3 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk flour, salt, and baking soda together.
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and add vanilla. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture. Stir in chocolate.
  4. Scoop heaping tablespoons of the dough and roll by hands into balls.
  5. Place 2 inches apart on baking sheets. Flatten dough slightly with fingertips.
  6. Bake 12-15 minutes until light golden brown. (if baking 2 sheets at a time, rotate pans halfway through baking).
  7. Transfer cookies to a rack to cool. Enjoy with cold milk!
Leave a Reply

