Peach Cream pie

Thinking about Spring’s pie season, I miss the drive down to the Dallas Farmer’s Market where rows and rows of fresh produce would come rolling out of vendor’s trucks.

I miss sampling the flavored honeys and haggling with people for a good deal. Maybe, I just miss haggling. I can’t help it.

I know I’m early for peach season but I thought I’d share this recipe for Peach Cream pie in case you were lucky enough to have peaches stocked up and wanted a way to use them up quickly. This recipe was discovered last year and approved by my friend Michiko (expert of all things fruity and creamy). By “peach cream” i don’t mean literally made with cream but rather, letting the natural juices of the fruit and the flour bake together to form a cream. You’ll see.

You’ll need:

  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups fresh peaches -pitted, skinned, and sliced
  • 1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch single crust pie
  1. Line a 9 inch pie pan with crust. Place peaches in the unbaked pie shell.
  2. Cream together the sugar and butter. Add egg, flour, vanilla and mix well. Spread this mixture over the top of the peaches.
  3. Bake at 300 degrees for 1 hour. Let juices settle by cooling completely before serving.
Leave a Reply

