Moist Carrot Cake & cream cheese icing

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all had a peaceful and blessed holiday. Even though we’ve barely eased into the winter season, I’m ready to take a break from holiday baking and branch out into unknown territory. Carrot cake. OK, not that unknown. Baking a cake has always been a pain for me. It’s not the baking part, that’s easy. I’m a horrible decorator! Part of the reason is because I think baking a whole cake requires so much time and patience.. which I lack. It’s like someone has to strap me down while the cake is cooling or else I’ll get up and stare at it then walk around (repeat cycle 15x) or start poking at it. So, first cake of the year! I’m pleased at how the flavor came out. The recipe is extremely simple and yummy. Frosting recipe attached is highly recommended.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You’ll need:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup vegetable oil (or sub half with applesauce)
  • 1 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 2 3/4 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 (8 oz) can crushed pineapple, drained
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup flaked coconut

WE CAN DO THIS!

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour 2 9 in round cake pans. Mix together all dry ingredients.
  2. In a large bowl, mix sugar, oil, and eggs. Beat in flour mixture. Stir in shredded carrots, crushed pineapple, nuts and coconut. Pour into prepared pans.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool before flipping over.

Cream Cheese icing:

  • 1 8 oz package of cream cheese at room temperature
  • 4 cups of confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup crushed pineapple
  • 1 cup shredded coconut for sprinkling over cake (optional, but I like it because it makes the cake pretty and hides all my decorating imperfections ha!)
  1. Beat cream cheese until fluffy and add vanilla extract
  2. Slowly add confectioner’s sugar 1/2 cup at a time until well blended. If the consistency is too runny, gradually add more confectioner’s sugar. Add crushed pineapple and mix well. Frost cake and enjoy!

One thought on “Moist Carrot Cake & cream cheese icing

  1. You need to make this for us!! Pretty Please!!! I’ll make you guys my quesadillas and shrimps’ head pasta soon!

Leave a comment