Spiced Pumpkin bread

YES! I did it.

I just baked my first successful pumpkin bread. It was warm, moist, spiced, and deeeeelicious! I was discouraged by the first time I attempted to make it. What ended up happening that time was, half way through baking, I suddenly remembered that I forgot to add the sugar. Sadly, I ended up tossing away 4 beautiful loaves. The taste without the sugar was completely horrific. I strongly advise everyone to not forget the sugar like I did. This time I tried out a different recipe (scared of being jinxed by the first one), that came from Bon Appรฉtit (Nov 1995) and wow, with a few adjustments.. was absolutely the best pumpkin bread I’ve ever tasted. The reason I used mini loaf pans is because I plan on plastic wrapping each individually as presents for friends. Who wouldn’t love to have assorted spiced breads for Christmas? Food gifts never fail to make someone happy. Trust me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The only changes I made to the original recipe was to cut the sugar and add some brown sugar too. I cut back half of the oil and added half a cup of buttermilk which made it fluffy and rich without an oily taste. Good luck everyone! I know you will love this.

You’ll need:

  • 1 cup white granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 15 ounce can solid packed pumpkin
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Let’s do this!

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour 4 mini loaf pans. Beat sugar, oil, and buttermilk in large bowl to blend. Mix in eggs and pumpkin. Sift flour, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, salt and baking powder into another large bowl. Stir into pumpkin mixture in 2 additions and mix in walnuts, if desired.
  2. Divide batter equally among the loaf pans and pour 3/4 to the top. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool for 15 minutes before cutting.
Leave a Reply

