Snickerdoodles

Two nights ago Michiko and I were trying to brainstorm what kind of cookies I should bake for our bible study group. Snickerdoodles came to mind but I was a little hesitant because I know that sometimes the simplest things are the hardest to make. Pancakes for example should never be underestimated because one wrong step and you get something totally different like crepes. Of course I’m speaking from experience.  So last night, for old times sake (and because I’m still on Summer break and late night baking moods are rare) a late night baking session sounded very relaxing. I found a nice recipe that asked for cream of tartar. I’m guessing the cream of tartar is suppose to help the cookies stay risen and puffy? The house smelled of cinnamon and sugar the WHOLE night and by morning some of the cookies were missing. I’m sure the cookie monsters in the rooms next to me were loose. The cookies came out slightly chewy (kudos!) and soft in the middle. I’d recommend baking the cookies on the top rack of the oven because the ones I baked at the bottom were burnt on the sides. These are wonderful with milk. Enjoy!

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 2/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Cream butter and shortening with the 1 1/2 cups of white sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time, vanilla. Blend in flour, crema of tartar, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, mix 1 tbsp of sugar with cinnamon and mix well. Roll the dough in mixtures and place on a nonstick baking sheet 2 inches apart. Bake 8-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

